Posted by: Beemer Bob | March 22, 2013

Battle of the Bulge


No I’m not talking about the WW2 offensive, but rather my mid-section bulge. My reason for this posting is to make public my battle and goals among friends and to make myself publicly accountable.

I did something like this years ago when I decided to quit smoking. I had tried (in secret) many times but failed. I never had to tell anyone I failed because no one knew I had tried. Once I made my goal to quit smoking public, I could not be seen anywhere with a cigarette and I would have the embarrassment of everyone knowing I failed. It worked, and that was about 25 years ago. Now I have a new addiction that is killing me.

This came about because of my desire to ride the Continintal Divide Route (CDR) this spring. Yes, this will be attempt #3, but that is a different story. Although I’m retired, my kitchen passes are normally limited to 2 weeks (longer than that, the dishes start to stack up), but this trip was looking to be at least 3 weeks. My good friend pleaded with the my wife (AKA: The Saint) for an extended pass and she reluctantly agreed but with the stipulation that I get in better shape so that she does not have to deal with retrieving my fat corpse from the middle of nowhere because I had keeled over from a heart attack.

With this goal, I started to do some research and found with my weight and height I have now achieved the honorable status of MORBIDLY OBESE! obese is one thing, but morbidly obese is, well … morbid. Obese can always be glossed over with nice terms like “Husky”, “on the heavy side”‘, etc. There is nothing you can do with morbidly obese. That’s just plain FAT. I have to lose the “morbidly” from my classification.

Some time back, another friend and I were talking about health goals so that we would have many years of riding and we agreed that I needed to lose weight and he needed to stop chewing tobacco. He quit chewing for a while but I did not live up to my end of the bargain and he has returned to chewing. Now that I have publicly called him out he has to quit chewing as long as I live up to my end of the deal.

Physically I am 65 and the thought of having to slow down because of my age and health is depressing. I can’t do much about my age, but I recognize I must get in better condition if I want to continue to have good adventures on the roads less traveled.

I’m asking for your support, encouragement and damnation if I fall off the wagon. About once a week I will post my current weight and what I have done to condition my body.

So, here is the starting point.

Height 5’10
Weight: 287 lbs.

Responses

  1. Bob,

    GO FOR IT!!!!! I’m 54, 5’10” and 270lbs.
    Loosing weight is rough. Keep the world posted.

    Big Jack

    • Jack, join me! Lets do this together. Misery loves company.

  2. Very proud of you pop, will figure out how to post reply this week. It really is a big deal and a process, I should know and can help

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Thank Goodness, Bro!

    Here’s a couple suggestions. Set small goals with rewards. Like lose 10 pounds and get to eat a Blizzard. Then reset the goal to lose another 10 pounds, etc.

    Fad diets are just that, fads. The only way to lose weight is to expend more calories than you eat. Your idea of joining an aquatic exercise class is excellent. Look in the mirror every day. An exercise program will show immediate results. Although a little pricey, I recommend a personal trainer to begin with, preferably a cute female.

    Wine has 300 calories a glass, but no fat. You be the judge 🙂

    Hap

  4. Bob, good luck with your diet. Found your blog and enjoy it very much. I’m up the road in Austin and very much wanting a 1200GS so I can do some off-road riding. Have a 1200R right now that I love but I’d like to ride some of the trails in Big Bend (among other places).

    Gladly give you my guidance on how I lost 50lbs several years ago (I’m about 20 years younger but 50lbs is 50lbs) in exchange for some info on good dirt roads.

    If you’re in the Austin area look me up–will buy you a cup of coffee–proverbial or otherwise!


Leave a Reply

Categories

