Posted by: Beemer Bob | June 2, 2013

The battle continues


The battle of the buldge continues. I’m winning the battle so far, but the war goes on.

I am now 267. I was 287 when I started this, so I have dropped a total of 20 lbs and one notch on my belt. I’m not on any specific diet, I’m just trying to be smarter about what I eat and getting more exercise.

Am I fit enough to attempt riding the Continental Divide? I don’t know, I feel fitter, but I’m still fat. One of the problems with losing weight is how do you reward yourself? Once I was able to take in a notch on my belt, I wanted to celebrate with a large chocolate milkshake and a hamburger with a side of fries.

From my past injuries, the arthritus in my right foot is pretty severe and permanent. To continue to lose weight will, I’m sure, help with the pain but my ability to ever ride a two wheeled motorcycle again is very questionable because I don’t feel that I can support the bike with that foot. I’m down to my Ural sidecar rig that I can handle just fine and actually is more fun than a conventional motorcycle anyway.

The plan to ride the divide remains. I will be be traveling with two friends this time. They are both considerable younger than me (I think most everyone is younger than me) so they should be able to drag my fat ass home if needed. The date for our departure is a moving target. Their work schedules and responsibilities are getting in the way and making scheduling difficult but we plan to begin sometime after the 22nd of this month but may be an long as the 30th before we start. I’ll keep you posted.

Responses

  1. Way to go, hang in there!

  2. Hey Bob, I like to think that the solution is a mind over matter kinda thing. I to am fighting issues quite similar as your own. Yup way over weight, arthritis and negotiating the slippery slope of the AARP years! Figure about the only thing I really can change is the weight issues the rest I will just deal with. Good luck on your mission and a safe journey on that road trip!
    We must get together sometime and compare notes…

    Be seeing ya on SS

    srkline

  3. Hi Robert,

    Here’s the diet I started on in December after the big Holiday feeds that is.  No counting etc.  Just don’t eat the following six foods:  Sugar or foods with sugar in them (including sweeteners), no gluten (wheat bread pasta etc.), no dairy, no corn (includes anything with high fructose corn syrup), no soy (everything has soy in it it seems), and no (can’t remember the sixth one)……..  Supposed to also eliminate eggs too but with 5 hens producing 3-5 eggs per day I refuse to disappoint them.  Have found various ways around bread ( rice cakes), milk (coconut milk, almond milk, rice milk), and eating at least two fresh fruits per day plus more fresh vegetables.   Learned about the diet on a PBS beg-a-thon lecture talking about “The Virgin Diet”.  Virgin was the speaker’s name and no you don’t have to give up sex.  Anyway, it mostly boils down to eating foods that don’t have additives in them.  Feel much better, and have lost about 15 pounds.  Not a lot I know, but at least I don’t feel hungry all the time.  Sure do miss Ice Cream though.

    Sorry to be so lazy about mailing you those papers of your Mom’s.  I promise I’ll get around to it as soon as I can.  Now that summer’s here, don’t want to do much except play outside with the chicks, and planting flowers, and vege garden.  Keeps me busy.  Good luck.  Hope you can get down to under 200 and avoid the most probable stoke or heart attack lurking in the shadows.  

    Cuz,  Chris

    >________________________________ > From: Big Beemer Bob’s Bodacious Blog >To: plardette63@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, June 2, 2013 8:40 AM >Subject: [New post] The battle continues > > > > WordPress.com >Beemer Bob posted: “The battle of the buldge continues. I’m winning the battle so far, but the war goes on. I am now 267. I was 287 when I started this, so I have dropped a total of 20 lbs and one notch on my belt. I’m not on any specific diet, I’m just trying to be smarter” >


Leave a Reply

Categories

