Posted by: Beemer Bob | May 31, 2015

Mountains or Asheville?


Thee Saint and I made a trip up to the Balsam Mountain within the Great Smokey Mountains on the goose. A pit stop at “Mile High” so admire the views
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Getting close

We reach the beginning of the road that goes around Balsam Mountan. It turns out to be an unpaved dirt road.

I tell Thee Saint how much fun this would be. It is about 5 in the afternoon and the GPS says it will take several hours to complete the loop. At this point, Saint jumps out of the sidecar.

And informs me “No Way in Hell”!

I’m told it’s time to go home. So back to the park we go.

At the park that evening, there was some sort of hymnal sing-a-long.
(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Being a good southern Baptist girl, Thee saint stays to listen and I go and entertain myself elsewhere.

Next day, we take the goose to downtown Asheville. Asheville has numerous outside sidewalk cafés with street performers spread about town. We find a nice café to listen to the local performers. Ky and I partake in a Pisgah Ale.
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
And mama has a mimosa

Just across the street we got to enjoy the music of some artist that looked and sounded just like they came out of the hills.
(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Some still shots of this group.
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

On the square (called Pritchard Park), there were some folks playing drums and guitars while kids were doing break dancing to the beat.
(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
(‘click’ on picture to play video)

Street performers a plenty
(‘click’ on picture to play video)

(‘click’ on picture to play video)
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

How does this dude stand like that without falling over?
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

A visit to the Basilica of Saint Lawrence
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
And of course some “holly water”

Today is Memorial Day, by the way, and as we toured downtown, we passed a chocolate shop that was offering free chocolate to veterans. Oh, boy! I are a veteran, so I get free chocolate!
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

From downtown Asheville, we head to the Biltmore estate. I tourd this estate last year and was impressed, but once seen, well – its been seen. But Tree cannot get enough. She bought an annual pass and wants to go see the estate again, and again and again. That’s OK – I like the estate grounds and it doesn’t cost me anything to just drop her off.

After I drop her off, I amuse myself at the Biltmore winery (can you say ‘free tastings’). I await to be summoned to come pick her up and the front of the estate.

It took me a while. First I kept having goose traffic jams in the goose.
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Then I got lost. The estate grounds are huge with a lot of one-way roads but at last I find my way back to the estate. At least no one had to contact the park rangers to come find me.

Riding around the grounds

It is nearing the end of a beautiful day, so it’s time to head “home”

Leave a Reply

Categories

